Interview with Heather Summerhayes Cariou

Heather Summerhayes Cariou's book, Sixtyfive Roses: A Sister's Memoir, is not new to this blog. I published a review of in on Amazon back in June introduced here by a post on June 2, and I've referred to it a couple of times since.
There is much to appreciate in this book, and two of them are especially relevant to the classes I teach on writing sparkling description and dynamic dialogue. Heather is a master of both. Today Heather has agreed to be my guest for the second in a series of mini-interviews especially for readers of The Heart and Craft of Life Writing. 
In this interview, Heather explains how she was able to craft compelling descriptions of places from times long past and dialogue about events that happened thirty or forty years ago. As a bonus for listeners, she gives several tips that will help anyone with writing dialogue, description, or really anything.
The interview lasts for 14 minutes. You can listen on the player below, or click the link to download it for listening on your mp3 player. 

Write now: listen to the interview and try Heather's tip on using poetry to loosen up your creative right brain.

2 comments :

Karen Walker said...

Great interview, you two. Heather, I agree with Sharon. Your memoir is filled with vivid descriptions that blew me away. The whole memoir blew me away. Can't wait to meet you at Story Circle Network conference in February.
Karen

Sharon Lippincott said...

Karen, glad you enjoyed the interview. What a wonderful world, that we can share conversations around the globe with a few clicks of the mouse, and know not only what people look like and write about, but what they sound like and how they think on the spur of the moment.